Tulsa County Selected as Finalist for RWJF Culture of Health Prize

This post was written by Keonté Carter In: Posted March 11, 2016

Tulsa County was chosen as a finalist for the fourth annual RWJF Culture of Health Prize given by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. As a finalist, Tulsa County is one step closer to the national Prize which honors communities that place a high priority on health and bring partners together to drive local change.

Selected from nearly 200 communities across the country, Tulsa County joins 15 other finalist communities. Winners will be announced in September.

“We are pleased to advance as a RWJF Culture of Health Prize finalist community,” said Leslie Carroll, Pathways to Health director. “There is so much work being done in Tulsa County as community partners come together to address disparities and propel changes in health. It is an honor to be recognized on a national level as we advance to the final round of the application process.”

The Prize is guided by the principle that every community has the potential to improve and be a healthier place to live. To earn finalist status, Tulsa County had to demonstrate how it excelled in the six Prize criteria:

  • Defining health in the broadest possible terms.
  • Committing to sustainable systems changes and policy-oriented long-term solutions.
  • Cultivating a shared and deeply-held belief in the importance of equal opportunity for health.
  • Harnessing the collective power of leaders, partners, and community members.
  • Securing and making the most of available resources.
  • Measuring and sharing progress and results.

“The RWJF Culture of Health Prize finalist communities are working together to put good health within everyone’s reach,” said Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, RWJF president and CEO. “We look forward to learning more from these 16 finalist communities about how they are working across multiple fronts to help people thrive.”

If selected as a Prize winner, Tulsa County will be given a $25,000 cash prize and an opportunity to share their story and lessons learned with the nation. To learn about the work of the 20 previous Prize winners, visit www.rwjf.org/prize.

Tagged in:

© 2020 Copyright Pathways to Health